Baskets Galore!!

I‘ve been on a basket kick lately. It started with a huge pile of t-shirts from my husband. His job is changing out uniforms right now so he had this big pile of t-shirts that he was going to THROW AWAY! (Throw away? Are you kidding me? What kind of crafter would I be if I didn’t think of something brilliant to do with them instead of throwing them out? I mean, really, I wasn’t hoarding them…I was merely saving the landfill from filling up.)

tshirt-basket-2

Following this tutorial, I turned this pile of shirts into….t-shirt yarn!!! I liked this tutorial the best because it made the entire t-shirt into one seamless strand of yarn, rather than a ton of individual strips per shirt. I can’t tell you how many yards of yarn I got with this, but the whole pile of shirts made two large-ish balls.

tshirt-basket-3

By the way, just be warned, that depending on the type of material your t-shirts are made out of, they may leave behind a sprinkling of ‘dust’ that gets everywhere like this. It was a pain in the butt. When I used this yarn to make the basket, I put my WIP and the yarn balls on a blanket because it was covering myself and the couch with all of it’s ‘dust.’

tshirt-basket-4

Anyway, I created my husband a basket for his desk at work so he could put all of his coffee maker things in it (coffee, creamer, sweetener, mug). I thought it was cute that it’s made out of his old work uniform shirts…and he has the basket on his desk at work. lol

shirt-basket-2

Here’s the link to the basket pattern. The t-shirt yarn basket was made holding two strands of the t-shirt yarn together (that was not an easy task and worked up really slow because of the bulk) and I only made the small size.

My kids loved the basket so much, I made each of them one to store their things in the back seat of my van (sunglasses, books, small toy). They were even more stoked that I let them choose 6 colors for their basket. Yes, I said 6. I used 6 strands at once to make these baskets nice and sturdy so they stood up by themselves (using an 8.0mm hook). At least with this yarn, it was a very fast work-up compared to the homemade t-shirt yarn basket.

Using my favorite I Love This Yarn by Hobby Lobby, little Miss picked out Pink, Hot Rose, Turquoise, Ocean, Purple, and Amethyst. I made the larger sized basket for both of my kids and because of the difference in yarn size, they worked up to the same size as the t-shirt yarn basket I made first.

e-basket-3

Little man picked out his favorites for his basket: Red, Yellow, Royal (blue), Jellybean (green), White, and Greybeard. My husband says his choice reminds him of the Fruit Stripe gum from when he was a kid (remember that colorfully wrapped zebra gum?…yeah, I never had it, but I remember that wrapper from the supermarket checkout line.)

t-basket-3

And they are the perfect size to sit on the middle seat between their two carseats. Now I don’t have things falling on the floor of my van every time we go somewhere.

Leave a Reply

