Gilmore Girls CAL – Week #4

The rebels. This week pays tribute to the rebels in the Gilmore Girls–the Life & Death Brigade and Hep Alien.

One of my favorite episodes in the entire Gilmore Girls series is season 5, episode 7, “You Jump, I Jump, Jack.” In this episode, Rory is whisked away for a weekend with the Life & Death Brigade so she can cover a story for the Yale Daily News. My favorite scene is when Logan takes Rory by the hand and the two then jump off of a scaffolding in a stunt. This iconic GG scene symbolizes Rory’s awakening, where she is opening herself up to adventure and stepping outside of her comfort-zone bubble. Many will argue that this is symbolic of her relationship with Logan, but I think it goes beyond her relationship with Logan.

And what better way to incorporate Rory’s BFF, Lane Kim, into our graphgan than to add Hep Alien? We all remember Lane’s penchant for hiding forbidden music, clothes, make-up, and food from her mother in the floorboards of her bedroom. Lane followed her passion for making music by rebeling against her mother, and met her husband and the father of her twin boys in the process.

lane-hair-dye

Now, I know a true fan will argue that the umbrella Rory used in the ‘You jump, I jump, Jack,’ scene is black. But I went with the vibrant blue of her scarf. So if you were wondering why I used that blue, well, that’s why.

I give you the rebels of the Gilmore Girls, the Life & Death Brigade and Hep Alien:

in-omnia-paratus-life-death-brigade-25x25-closeupin-omnia-paratus-life-death-brigade-25x25-fullhep-alien-25x25-closeuphep-alien-25x25-full

In Omnia Paratus, Latin for ‘ready for anything,’ is the motto of the Life & Death Brigade, and has become quite a memorable quote from the series. You don’t have to do the quote, but if you want to, here’s how I did it. To do this writing on the umbrella, I simply made a long chain and sewed it on! Simple as that. I placed stitch markers to mark the tops and bottoms of the rows I used to place the motto on to help keep the letters as even as possible. It was a lot of trial and error with the placement, but my patience paid off. Here are a few progressive photos:

I have both graphs available in several formats–PDF and png. Below you will find the links for them via Google Drive documents.

In Omnia Paratus (Life & Death Brigade) 25×25 PDF

In Omnia Paratus (Life & Death Brigade) 25×25 PNG

Hep Alien 25×25 PDF

Hep Alien 25×25 PNG

Here are the colors needed for these two graphs, but for more information on the colors (alternatives), layout, and schedule for this CAL, check out this IMPORTANT FAQs DOCUMENT. **NOTE: I had originally scheduled Ivory as the background for the Hep Alien square, but switched to the Light Gray while making it. Either would work!

week-4

While my Gilmore Girls CAL posts will stay up and remain free, for convenience, I have also combined all of these graphs into one giant PDF file for those that would like to purchase a copy of it condensed, rather than having to hunt thru my posts. You can purchase this pattern for a small fee here on Ravelry.

Feel free to make and sell products using this, but because I put a lot of time and love into this big CAL project, I ask that you give me credit or if it’s online somewhere, you link back to me. If you’re not a part of our CAL FB group, come and join us here.

I can’t wait to see what you do with this! The official hastag for this CAL is:

#CHAOSANDCHOPSUEYGGCAL

Copper Boom!

<3, Angela

One thought on “Gilmore Girls CAL – Week #4

Leave a Reply

