Picnic Basket

Last year, both of my brothers became fathers, making me an auntie! This time last year, I was still relatively new to crochet and whipped up some baby items for my new nieces. This year, I wanted to get a little creative with their 1st birthday gifts. I love making amigurumi and wanted to make them a few pieces of food to play with but didn’t quite know how I wanted to present the food to them. This was the birth of my Picnic Basket pattern!

IMG_4753.JPG

I love the look of the basketweave stitch and decided that this is what I wanted to use to give the basket this great texture and detail. Using double strands of I Love This Yarn (worsted weight) in Brown, I created this picnic basket small enough for little curious hands.

img_4757

The food patterns do not belong to me, but are linked below. I used all cotton yarn (I Love This Cotton) to work up the food so little curious mouths wouldn’t have acrylic fibers on their tongues. The picnic blanket is a piece of thick cotton fabric that I happened to find at my local fabric shop which I washed and sewed the folded edges.

Carrot by Kristi Tullis

Big Apple Amigurumi by Craft Passion

Cupcake Pincushion by Esshaych

My friend Kimberlie over at ShopKimberlie gave this pattern a whirl and added her hotdog and cheeseburger amigurumi pieces to her basket!

16930455_10206674926546861_1947483671_o

To grab your copy of my Picnic Basket pattern, you can head over to my Ravelry store, or use the direct link to my Picnic Basket pattern. With such a versatile basket pattern, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

-Angela

Leave a Reply

