Speckled Cupcake Revamp

A few months ago I made a matching (but coordinating) set of my No-Bake Speckled Cupcake hats for my almost-4-year-old twins. They love the heck out of their hats and were none too pleased when I had to put them away at the end of winter.

Cupcake hatsI originally made one for myself following the same pattern, but the more I wore it, the more I realized that the pattern was not the right fit for me. Not only was it too small for my big head , I realized that I am just not a full-brim winter hat kinda gal. So, I ripped it apart and remade one that suited me a bit more.

Using the same pattern as my original No-Bake Speckled Cupcake hat pattern, here are the modifications I made to fit me a bit better.

**NOTE** If the original is too small for your adult head, try these modifications. You can always do the original full brim, but the difference in hook size and adding extra rows makes for a looser fit on my 22″ head.

NOTES

  • Icing hook size: K (6.5 mm)
  • Cupcake Liner hook size: J (6.0 mm)

ICING

  • Using a K (6.5 mm)  hook:
  • Work the pattern the same all the way up to the end of Round 15. That means, finish Round 15 and add the following rounds:
    • Extra Round A: Chain 2, 1 FPDC on the same FPDC you slip stitched to in the previous round (this pushes the chain 2 to the back), 5 DC in the space between the FPDC you just made and the next DC from the previous round, skip 4 stitches. *1 FPDC on the previous round’s FPDC, 5 DC in the space between the FPDC you just made and the next DC from the previous round, skip 4 stitches.* Repeat from * to * until the end of the round. Slip stitch to the top of the first FPDC, not chain 2 (this pushed the chain to the back). [15 FPDC, 75 DC]
    • Extra Round B: Chain 2, 1 FPDC on the same FPDC you slip stitched to in the previous round (this pushes the chain 2 to the back), 5 DC in the space between the FPDC you just made and the next DC from the previous round, skip 5 stitches. *1 FPDC on the previous round’s FPDC, 5 DC in the space between the FPDC you just made and the next DC from the previous round, skip 5 stitches.* Repeat from * to * until the end of the round. Slip stitch to the top of the first FPDC, not chain 2 (this pushed the chain to the back). [15 FPDC, 75 DC]
    • Extra Round C: Repeat Extra Round B.
    • Pick up the original pattern and complete Round 16 to the end of the icing pattern.

cupcake slouchy 3

CUPCAKE LINER

**NOTE** You will be turning at the end of each row, so sometimes you will be working on the wrong side (WS) of the hat. That means when you are on the WS, the INSIDE of the hat is facing you. Pattern indicates whether you are on the RS (right side) or WS (wrong side) in case you lose track.

  • Switch to a J (6.0 mm) hook
  • Row 1: Using cupcake liner yarn, attach yarn anywhere on the edge UNDER the scallop flaps with a slip stitch. To find this spot, fold back the scallops so they are now sandwiched between you and the rest of the hat. Chain 1. *FPHDC in next stitch. BPHDC in next stitch.* Repeat *to* 33. FPHDC. Chain 1, turn. [69 stitches]
  • Row 2: (WS) 2 HDC in first stitch. *FPHDC in next stitch. BPHDC in next stitch.* Repeat to end. 2 HDC in last stitch. Chain 1, turn.
    • **NOTE** Make sure your FPHDCs and BPHDCs are lining up on top of each other so they create these ridges. That means a FPHDC from the previous round will have a BPHDC worked on it in the current round. Same thing for BPHDC from the previous round–the opposite, a FPHDC will be worked on those stitches in the current round. This is because you are turning your work at the end of the rounds

12874652_10154126944724916_376301680_o (1) (1)

  • Row 3: (RS) 2 HDC in first stitch. *BPHDC in next stitch. FPHDC in next stitch.* Repeat *to* to end. 2 HDC in last stitch. Chain 1, turn.
  • Row 4: (WS) 2 HDC in first stitch. FPHDC in next stitch. *BPHDC in next stitch. FPHDC in next stitch.* Repeat *to* to end. 2 HDC in last stitch. Chain 1, turn.
  • Row 5: (RS) Repeat Row 4.
  • Row 6: (WS) Repeat Row 4.
  • Row 7: (RS) Repeat Row 4.

**NOTE** Check for sizing at this point. I like these half brims to extend from my head a bit like a bill on a hat, so I kept going for another 2 rows. If I were making it for my kids, I would have stopped after Row 7.

  • Row 8: (WS) Repeat Row 4
  • Row 9: (RS) Repeat Row 4.
  • Final round: (RS) Turn hat sideways and evenly work SC along the side of brim. Continue SC in every stitch (keep these stitches slightly looser than you would normally!—If you are making an adult sized hat, you are using a smaller hook than what you made the top of the hat with!) along the back side of the hat where there is no brim. Turn hat sideways again and evenly work SC along the opposite side of the brim. When you get to the corner of the brim, chain 30. In the 4th chain from the hook, work a slip stitch into the back loop only. Continue working a slip stitch in the back loop for the length of the chain. Turn hat sideways again and continue working an SC in every stitch along the long edge of the brim. When you get to the corner of the brim, chain 30. In the 4th chain from the hook, work a slip stitch into the back loop only. Continue working a slip stitch in the back loop for the length of the chain. At the base of the chain, slip stitch to the first SC of the final round. Finish off and break yarn. Weave in all ends.
  • Attach a pompom to loops created on ends of both chain-slip stitch combo.
  • Follow the original pattern for the CHERRY information.

cupcake slouchy 2

END NOTES

Use this pattern ’til your heart’s content. All I ask is that you do not use my own photos as your own, link back to me with your work, and don’t cut and paste the pattern as your own. Just link back to me. Please. Oh, and you can always follow me on Facebook or Pinterest or Instagram or Twitter or Tumblr.

I love to see your photos!! Tag me on Facebook (@Chaos & Chop Suey) with your finished masterpieces or share them on my Facebook wall!

cupcake slouchy 4

 

Leave a comment