Gilmore Girls CAL – Week #7

***WARNING: THIS POST CONTAINS SPOILERS FROM “GILMORE GIRLS: A YEAR IN THE LIFE!!***

I finally got the chance to sit down and watch the revival, and let me tell you, I’ve got lots to talk about (not necessarily here, but let’s just say that I’ve got questions for Mrs. Sherman Palladino). BTW, if you somehow missed the big SPOLIER ALERT at the very top of this page, here’s my final warning, if you haven’t seen the revival yet and have somehow escaped all the spoilers on the internet, turn back now my friend, ’cause the squares for this week come from the revival.

Those final 4 words. Now, I’m going to get into a huge discussion about it here, but they are what they are and one of our squares this week is a tribute to those final 4 words. In case you didn’t know, here is the script from the final 4 words that Amy Sherman Palladino says she always envisioned ending the series with:

Rory: “Mom?”

Lorelai: “Yeah?”

Rory: “I’m pregnant.”

gilmoregirls_final4words

I mean, seriously?!? I get the whole artistic ‘full circle’ crap with the vision behind it, but as a fan, I think it’s a load of crap. It’s not that I didn’t like it or agree with how things ended, but after all that build up, THAT’S HOW THE SERIES IS GOING TO END?! WITH THE BIGGEST CLIFFHANGER EVER?!?! I think we argue all day long about how the Rory in the revival was highly unlike the Rory from the original run, but then again, no one can be perfect for forever. She seemed to represent a generation where a wanderlust and un-rooted existence seems to be more of the norm than a textbook college/job-settle down-marry and have kids that we millenials seem to attribute to previous generations.

Anyway, I used an apple to represent Rory’s pregnancy because we all remember the scene from Season 5, Episode 21 “Blame Booze and Melville,” where Sookie is in labor and Lorelai is freaking out thinking she’s pregnant because she was craving an apple. She tracks down a doctor to tell her the story of how when she was pregnant with Rory, she kept craving apples, which is not the norm for her, and she thought she might be pregnant again. Long story short, Lorelai wasn’t pregant that time. I figured with a palatte that only that mother and daughter duo share, Rory would also crave apples when she was pregnant.

rorys-pregnant-25x25-closeuprorys-pregnant-25x25-full

One of my favorite characters on the show is Kirk. He plays everything from a DSL installer to the guy that runs the Black, White, and Read theater part of the bookshop to an Ooooober driver. No matter what Kirk is doing, he always brings a smile to my face (or a cringe if he’s doing his interpretation of his own birth). I thought it only fitting that Kirk had a square on our blanket, so I give you Petal the pig.

331_gilmoregirls_101_spr_03281r-1479835053

 

petal-kirk-25x25-logo

rory-s-pregnant-25x25-logo

I have these graphs available in several formats–PDF and png. Below you will find the links for them via Google Drive documents.

Rory’s Pregnant! 25×25 PNG

Rory’s Pregnant! 25×25 PDF

Petal (Kirk) 25×25 PNG

Petal (Kirk) 25×25 PDF

Here are the colors needed for this graph, but for more information on the colors (alternatives), layout, and schedule for this CAL, check out this IMPORTANT DOCUMENT.

 

week-7

While my Gilmore Girls CAL posts will stay up and remain free, for convenience, I have also combined all of these graphs into one giant PDF file for those that would like to purchase a copy of it condensed, rather than having to hunt thru my posts. You can purchase this pattern for a small fee here on Ravelry.

Feel free to make and sell products using this, but because I put a lot of time and love into this big CAL project, I ask that you give me credit or if it’s online somewhere, you link back to me. If you’re not a part of our CAL FB group, come and join us here.

I can’t wait to see what you do with this! The official hastag for this CAL is:

#CHAOSANDCHOPSUEYGGCAL

Copper Boom!

<3, Angela