Gilmore Girls CAL – Week #8

This is it! We’ve made it to the final week of this Gilmore Girls Crochet-a-long (CAL)! That means it’s BANNER WEEK! I am not releasing any bonus square this week, but later on this week, I will be posting a few crochet appliques you may want to take advantage of and add them to your blanket (I secretly love appliques).

I designed two different options–one banner is a nod towards the original series run and the other banner is a tribute to the revival. I made the banner inspired by the original series run:

fall-banner-fullfall-banner-close-up

The banner is supposed to resemble the opening credits and song where the Gilmore girls title is on the screen with colorful fall leaves behind it:

The revival inspired banner has the same classic Gilmore girls title, but the background is that vibrant turquoise that you see in the revival posters:

revival-poster-collage

Now, I designed this CAL around Luke’s sign, with 12 smaller square surrounding it, topped off with a banner (for more information about the layout, see the FAQs document I have available for this CAL). If you’ve been following along, you’ll notice that I have released a TON of extra squares. Those squares are meant to be used as alternatives or to make your blanket bigger–whatever you choose. *IF* you are planning on changing the layout of the blanket and will be adding additional columns of squares, please be aware that the banner is 31 pixels tall. This means that any of the squares I have designed will not be tall enough to stand next to the banner. Take a look:

banner-height

BUT, there’s a super easy fix–just add 6 rows to any of my smaller squares are you’re fine (ideally, 3 on the top and 3 on the bottom of the square to keep the image centered). Now, that’s ROWS, not COLUMNS (FYI, rows go horizontal)!

gilmore-girls-banner-fall-100x31-logogilmore-girls-banner-revival-100x31-logo

I have these graphs available in several formats–PDF and png. Due to the length of these graphs, I have broken them up into 2 separate sheets so you can easily see the graphs. All you do is put them side-by-side and work both pages together (don’t make each page separately). Below you will find the links for them via Google Drive documents.

Gilmore Girls Banner Fall (Original run) 25×25 PNG – Page 1 & Page 2

Gilmore Girls Banner Fall (Original run) 25×25 PDF

Gilmore Girls Banner Revival 25×25 PNG – Page 1 & Page2

Gilmore Girls Banner Revival 25×25 PDF

Here are the colors needed for these two graphs, but for more information on the colors (alternatives), layout, and schedule for this CAL, check out this IMPORTANT DOCUMENT.

week-8-banner-2week-8-banner-1

While my Gilmore Girls CAL posts will stay up and remain free, for convenience, I have also combined all of these graphs into one giant PDF file for those that would like to purchase a copy of it condensed, rather than having to hunt thru my posts. You can purchase this pattern for a small fee here on Ravelry.

Feel free to make and sell products using this, but because I put a lot of time and love into this big CAL project, I ask that you give me credit or if it’s online somewhere, you link back to me. If you’re not a part of our CAL FB group, come and join us here.

I can’t wait to see what you do with this! The official hastag for this CAL is:

#CHAOSANDCHOPSUEYGGCAL

Copper Boom!

<3, Angela